Tascam 388 Help/Suggestions.....For the Dreaded Nooooooob

PsychFuzz72

Howdy Folks

Introduced myself over at the newbie forum and had some questions, but was told to head on over here for better help. Sorry for the length, i'll try to be as quick as possible.

I am a total noob to the world of recording. Been in the studio many times, but always on the musician side of things. But I am eager & willing to learn the ways of analog....

Anyway, some info i'm asking for is available here but I get conflicting stories so i'll ask. I just bought a Tascam 388. First, I cleaned the entire tape path (metal parts) with 91% alcohol and q-tips. Then, i wiped down the pinch roller and the part after it (that has rubber as a middle strip)with a light, non-alcohol cleaner. I assume next is demag-ing the beast. Questions:

1)I am apprehensive about demagnetizing....seems like it could be disastrous if you're not paying attention. I see these SV808's on Ebay for $12.95.....are these any good ? I'd rather have something with no switch as I know one day i'll forget and screw my heads up turning it on too close. Do you have to follow the tape path? Do you touch all of the metal parts except the 2 heads? Slow in, slow out....clockwise motion, etc.

2)Seems like the heads have some wear but nothing bad...i've enclosed a couple of pics so if anyone can give me their opinion, tips, pointers, good tape to use, etc it would be MUCH appreciated!!!!!

Thanks
-Nick-

P1010999.jpg

P1010998.jpg

P1010996.jpg

Hi Nick,
I'm in the same boat as you with demagnetizing. I've read many opposing opinions on its value and I haven't owned my 388 long enough to know what demagging has done for it.