Tascam 388 countdown... not up?

Poulsbo Slim

Hi all,
Lots of knowledgeable folks on here! Been reading all posts I can find on 388's the past few days. After many years recording with a digital home studio, I was recently enticed by a friend's studio where he records to a Tascam 388. With it, he's getting beautiful recordings that have a lot of character. I was completely stoked to find one for sale on craigslist. So a two-day road trip and a couple hundred bucks later, I'm staring at this honkin' thing in my studio. It may be too early to use words like love, but I've definitely developed a crush. It's in immaculate shape- very clean and no scratches or dents. I'm VERY new to this kind of gear:D, but I'm absolutely excited to learn all I can about it. So, what appears to be the first and only problem I've found (so far), is that the counter, when I press PLAY, counts backwards. That is, I'll press the reset button, press play, and it will immediately count from zero into the negative. When I press RTZ, it goes forward forever, counting further into the negative. Also, when the unit is fast-forwarding, the STOP button is ineffective. I found that the only way I can stop it while it is fast-forwarding is to press REWIND and then stop (is that hard on this kind of machine? A bad idea?). I'm using the tape that was loaded there by the previous owner. It plays back the recording on the tape and seems like it must be loaded correctly. STOP works while in play and rewind, just not fast-forward. I realize this could very well be embarrassing user error... maybe I don't understand the LOAD function fully. Any ideas? Any advice would be MUCH appreciated. Can't wait to start recording with this and learning all its ins and outs.
Thanks!

Last edited:
Sounds like you have the tape routed around the wrong side of the tach wheel. Thats the far right big roller right before the right hand tension arm.That would make it count backwards.