Tascam 388 audio problems?

Ernest Cortez

I cant believe I just joined this forum... I'm late.

So I got a tascam 388 for 130 and it wasn't working at all. It turns out it needed new fuses and a new belt. Now it powers on, the lights work, it transports and records fine.... sortof. I can hear through the mixer and record with varying success. The mixer sounds perfect in the monitor but everything's super quiet when I listen back. I don't get why that is.

I cleaned the heads already and the problem persisted.

Now I'm thinking maybe I need to degauss it?
And something else just hit me... maybe one of the heads is out of allignment? I really don't know.

I'm relatively new to this. I've fixed up some reel to reels in the past, but this one might be a bit more than I can handle.

Okay this was an essay. Thanks so much to anybody who responds!

The mixer sounds perfect in the monitor but everything's super quiet when I listen back.

you'll have to be a bit clearer in what you mean here. do you mean that you're listening through the MONITOR OUTs while recording and it sounds good while tracking, but when you play back its quiet?

Do you understand how the routing/ASSIGN & MONITOR section works on this machine? If your not totally sure, then my loose guess would be that it has something to do with how you have things routed.

as a test try this: those tracks you recorded, play them and make sure on each channel that 1)the INPUT switch is on RMX 2)the ASSIGN L/R (red) button is engaged (down). whad'ya hear now?

I am just listening through the headphone outputs and it sounds good there when tracking but not during playback.

The input switch has always been on RMX and the L/R red button has always been down.

Also, when I turn it up I get a little bit more of what I recorded but it's mostly just drowned out by hiss.

Alright, where are you plugged in?