Tascam 38 Problem

_DK

Hi everyone. I'm having some problems with my Tascam 38, the reel on the right doesn't turn when I start it. Same problem when I try to run it without the tape by holding the tension rollers up. Most importantly, the tension roller on the left is a lot more loose than the on the side that is dead.
What could it be? Is the belt off or broken?
I'm sorry if it's a stupid question. I'm not a pro. But I'm hoping it's not the motor. It used to work perfectly, before being stored for several years.

The 38's have been semi-notorious for failing reel motors.

I own a 38 and had the same problem. I had the motor changed and the problem was solved. :)

There are no belts for the reel motors. Only the capstan drive runs with a belt.

The other possibility is to have the motor disassembled and cleaned but the added labour charges of doing this usually doesn't pay off as you'll spend the same amount of money or more because of the added bench time. If TASCAM doesn't have the motor in stock, then the reconditioning/cleaning of the motor's bearings and brushes is your only course of action.

Cheers! :)

_DK said:
Thanks!
Would I need something like this? http://cgi.ebay.com/TEAC-TASCAM-38-...ryZ67814QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Is it hard to change the motor?
That appears to be the correct part, yes. ;)

Changing it yourself and the difficulty of doing that largely depends on your DIY skills.

Having the full manual which offers all the exploded diagrams and parts numbers would be invaluable! :cool:

The price in the auction is also a good one as I paid $110 + tax for mine, though mine was a new one from TASCAM/TEAC Canada direct. Buying used motors may come with their own perils.

It would also be prudent to check the fuses first as it may be something as simple as a blown fuse on the motor circuit.