Tascam 34b issue

polishdog90

Hey all,
I'm new to tape recording and I'm having issues with my Tascam 34b 4-track reel to reel. I can get playback and monitor the input but I can't get sound on tape. When I activate the record it records silence (with the previous track still lightly audible) over the previous recording. I'm thinking it might be an issue with the record head but I'm not experienced enough to know how to trouble shoot any further. Let me know if you have any info that can help me out!

Thanks,
Louis

Are you recording with cleaned heads? Q-tips and alcohol? Sometimes even a bit of caked on dirt can be enough to stop the signal from getting onto the tape.

Are you sure you have the tape the right way around? Brown oxide side of the tape facing the heads?

Are you sure your levels are good going in? Loudest peaks around +3 on the meters and average program content around 0 on the VU meter(s)

Have you armed the tracks you wish to record on? Those are the 1-2-3-4 buttons on the front panel which have to be depressed to arm the track(s) you wish to record on.

Cheers! :)

Are you recording with cleaned heads? Q-tips and alcohol? Sometimes even a bit of caked on dirt can be enough to stop the signal from getting onto the tape.

Are you sure you have the tape the right way around? Brown oxide side of the tape facing the heads?

Are you sure your levels are good going in? Loudest peaks around +3 on the meters and average program content around 0 on the VU meter(s)

Have you armed the tracks you wish to record on? Those are the 1-2-3-4 buttons on the front panel which have to be depressed to arm the track(s) you wish to record on.

+1 to what Ghost said.

Furthermore, you should get the manual and follow the basic setup and recording instructions a long with checking what Ghost has said just to be certain that it's not user error rather than an actual fault with the machine.