sticking pinch rollers of tascam

Ged214

Hello,
I'm new to the forum, but I'm wondering if anyone can advise me? I own several Reel to Reels but one of them is a TEAC Tascam Series 32-2B which I purchased about 20 years ago, it's a nice machine but I have a problem with the pinch rollers, when I press play they are extreamly sluggish in moving up to connect with the tape and I usually have to help them. As I am not a technical expert, I'm wondering if there is a fairly simple solution to this problem?
If anyone can advise me I would be very grateful.

Can I also just ask if anybody also knows of any simple ways to demagnatize the heads as I don't own a head demagnatizer and I understand they are not that easy to come by.

Thank you
Ged214
:rolleyes:

Sorry I can't help with your first question but as far as demagnetizing the heads without a demag I see no other way of doing it. You can still buy them from junkbay for as little as $12.00 You can also buy them from US recording or atr magnetics. The han-d-mag I think is almost $80.00 If you want to spend that kind of money. Or, I've been looking for a Tascam 32 if you don't want to fix it maybe you can sell it to me. PM me if you want to sell.

Contact Teac Parts at parts@teac.com or at (323) 727-4840 for the pinch roller. The rubber destabilizes on some of the rubber parts after many years and at first is tacky and eventually becomes a soft tarry-like substance. Teac may have the rollers in stock. I would also get a capstan belt while you're at as it is likely that if the pinch roller is getting sticky so is the capstan belt.