Slow rewind, some noise on Tascam 22

leddy

Hey folks. My 22-2 had been working great for a while now. Now it has been slowing down in rewind. FF and play are all fine. The left reel wobbles more than it used to. Makes a slight squeal sometimes.

No signs of sticky tape. Belts are no more than a year old or so.

Thoughts?

:confused::)

I'm not 100% sure this could be the issue, but could the tape tension be off? What kind of tape have you been using?

The 22-2 is set up for 1 mm thick tape. I don't know if 1.5 mm thick tape would throw off the tension or not.

-MD

I'm no expert, but if you picked up a wobble, and the table isn't pulling the tape, I would suspect, in order:
  • table has become loose on the motor shaft - check set screw
  • worn-out motor bearing - much less likely, but would cause the same symptom

Excuse?

Surely, you jest. The thickest tape that I am aware of (and I'm new to this) is 1.5 mil (thousandth of an inch), which is equal to 0.038 millimeters (mm).

I'm no expert, but if you picked up a wobble, and the table isn't pulling the tape, I would suspect, in order:
  • table has become loose on the motor shaft - check set screw
  • worn-out motor bearing - much less likely, but would cause the same symptom

I'll check the set screw. It does seem like the shaft has more play than it should. Maybe it is the bearing.

Definitely not the set screws. I removed the reel table and the set screws were hard to loosen. The motor shaft has no side play, but travels in and out a little. About the same as the other one. It spins without noise, and when I press stop it continues to spin nice and smooth so I feel it is probably not the motor bearings. I'll put some tape on with the cover off and watch everything.

Strange...

...to me, anyway. Where's the wobble coming from?

I would imagine there's a little end play in the motor shaft.