Which RTR machine for me?

jtwrace

Hello All,

I'm new to the RTR thing..I would like to get a really great sounding RTR. Which is recommended? I've heard the Otari, Teac and ATR are great. Which one and where is the "best" source for one?

Thanks.

First of all, and others will agree, be less concerned about brand and more concerned about:

1. condition
  2. proximity

In other words, you want to find the best condition deck that is closest to you so you can go and see it before you buy it and personally transport it. You'll find all sorts of opinions on what the "best" or "better" or "preferred" uits are, but it is worth nothing if it won't function properly or needs $$$ to get it up-to-snuff or gets completely obliterated in transport. I'm not being dramatic here either. I would say you're much more likely to find a deck that needs a little work than one that needs nothing done, and anytime you load a 50-100lb chunk of gear into a box and hand it off to the shipper of your choice you are potentially signing a death warrant. Se the sticky at the top of this forum on packing 101.

Questions:

1. How many tracks do you want/what will you be doing with it?
  2. how much do you want to spend
  3. Do you plan on maintaining it yourself or having somebody else do that? If it is the former be prepared to spend some money on the tools end gear needed to maintain it properly yourself...if it is the latter then I suggest you find somebody you trust and who is reputable before sinking your money into an atr.

First of all, and others will agree, be less concerned about brand and more concerned about:

1. condition
  2. proximity