Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Protools and Analog

Thanks

Protools and Analog

Sign in to disable this ad
    After years of recording and mixing on a computer workstation, I've decided to go back to my analog roots and track on an analog 24-track before dumping to digital for mixing. I don't have a lot of outboard and wondered if anybody has tried using Protools as a front end to a 2-inch machine. Example: Mic pre to 888/24 converters through eq/Comp plugin's etc, back through converters and finally onto tape. I'd only use this configuration for initial tracking, so latency issues on overdubs wouldn't be a problem. I guess I'm more concerned about hitting the converters so many times. Any ideas?

Thanks
    Hmmm, I'm not a digital oriented person, but from what I've read from mastering engineers, thats one conversion too many. Every conversion does it's damage I think.
    Digital into analog for tracking makes no sense to me. But I'm no digital expert, so you digital guys can ream me if I'm out of line. But if your into digital, why are you lurking here. Just kidden, I roam the digital stuff too! Just to hear the woe is me stuff! Even at Tascam.
    fitZ
    alright breaks over, back on your heads!

Thanks
    I would not advise that route. If it's all you have for now I wouldn't worry too much about it. Good AD/DA won't hurt your audio noticeably, the main thing is to get that great tape sound on your tracks.

I would advise doing an A/B session between digital mixes off analog and analog mixes off of tape before deciding on a method.

I will bet you like the tape machine mixed through a Mackie better than a profools mix. Use that computefor edits and leave it out of the mixing...just my opinion.

Thanks
    Fitz,