Otari MX5050 8 track help needed

snipeguy

Andy Goldsworthy Wannabe
I just got an Otari MX5050 8 tack (thrown into a TEAC 3340 deal) and as I have NO experience with this machine I could use some advice. Firstly the transport will not engage. After powering up fine, the capstan motor runs fairly quietly. (Should I lube the Motor?) however nothing happens when I press any of the controls. Nothing, no click, NADA. The heads seem to be worn unevenly, more athe bottom than the top. Is this a re-lapping issue? Next problem, when send test tone to all the channels #2 will only show around -20db. The pinch roller has a couple of good bites out of it. As I have no tape yet I try to engage the machine by hold the idler arm up. Again, this machine was basically free. I'd love to get it up and running. I love the sound of my 3340 and this would be a sweet addition to my rig. Am I nuts.

Snipeguy

Hello!

First, the pinch roller will have to be replace, because any detent in the pinch roller will cause noticeable flutter.

Next, check the fuses and power sources, and while you're at it, check the solenoids.

Not having Otari experience, I'll go on record as saying the Tascam 38's solenoid have a flat rubber washer that can turn to goo, so that solenoid action is impeded. That's what I'm relating to, as I read your symptoms.

Any time the pinchwheel has a detent, it would indicate that other rubber parts may be shot, too. Think about it.

Good luck.

PS: Same thing if you experience similar problems on your 3440.;)