Newbie needs gear selection help

Reilley

I'm brand new at this, and technologically challenged, so to speak.

I need a 4-track analogue recorder, capable of recording 3 or 4 voices, and doing some basic dubbing/mixing. I'm not looking for sophistication, but would like a good quality tape when finished. We have to capture some harmonies. Used or new is OK. It can be as small as a toaster or big as a smallish suitcase.
Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Reilley

Well, that's a pretty narrow definition.

For new equipment, you're pretty much looking at the Tascam 424mkIII, for best overall features and sound quality. May be found new at www.musiciansfriend.com for $329, also at most Guitar Centers/same.

There's also the NEW Tascam 414mkII Portastudio, which is a capable recorder, and a little smaller and lower-tech than the 424mkIII, but for about $249/new.

For used equipment, I'd say try to find:
-the mint Tascam 246, for best overall feature package and hifi in a vintage format analog Portastudio, full-mixer/4-track recorder, 2x-speed hifi recording.

-Second choice, a mint Tascam 244 Portastudio, full-mixer/4-track recorder, 2x-speed hifi recording.

-Third choice, a mint Tascam 234 Syncaset, can accept 4-Mic inputs directly & records 4-simultaneously, with limited onboard stereo mixdown capability, only. 2x-speed hifi recording. [No full mixer like a Portastudio]. This option leaves the choice open in the future to integrate it with a more capable outboard mixer, f/i the Tascam M30.

-Fourth choice, a mint Tascam Porta One, especially good for remote field recording, with battery op and strap buttons, but is a less complex & smaller unit, with 1x-single speed recording only, [more lofi than 2x-speed recording].

Remember, to search out one of these used units ABOVE to be in mint condition, as they are 15-20 year old machines, but still may be found as mint used equipment, if you shop hard enough.;)

I JUST REMEMBERED ANOTHER WINNER!