need help with TSR-8

Milkfaj

I just got a Tascam TSR-8 and i love it. I am new to R2Rs though, and i have a lot of questions.

1- Do i really have to degauss every day? i dont have a degauser yet. I dont care about the tapes i have right now because they are used and there is notheing good on them, i just dont want to damage the machine.

2- the holddown hub on the takeup reel is busted and i have to use cardboard shims to hold it steady. this seems to work fine, but does anyone know how readily availible parts like this are from tascam?

3- when the tape is running, it scrapes on the side of the metal reel, mostly on the take up side. i think the reels are a little bent. is this going to damage the tapes? It makes an annoying noise, but i can deal with that.

4- The thing takes RCA inputs (i thought it would take 1/4") im getting an allan and heath 16 channel mix wizard. Should i just buy 16 RCA to 1/4" adapters? or is there a better solution?

thanks for any advice you can offer me!

You've got a really nice machine there. :)

You don't have to deguass every day -- I do it about once a week and before any serious "keeper" sessions.

Tascam has the parts.

The plastic hub is called a reel clamper Part # 5740003400. There is also a reel spacer that goes between the reel clamper and the reel table, part # 5800326600. They are cheap so I would buy two of those even if you just replace one clamper. They often go missing on old machines, but are very important to keep the downward torque from breaking the plastic hubs.

The rubbing of the reel could be because of the clamper or you may have a deformed reel flange that needs to be straightened or replaced.

Yes, constant rubbing will damage the tape edge. Ideally you want to eliminate that sort of friction and noise.