Mixer vu meters

Thrust

Has anyone ever replaced vu bulbs with LEDs? Would LEDs last longer? Im tired of buying specialty bulbs from the manufacturer. Is there any reason not to just replace them with a nice blue or green LED? Dont need to be bright white anyway. Give me some feedback or some alternate ideas. Thanks

Thanks GCalo. Thats a great link on everything mixer related. Im trying to reinvigorate my power supply and stereo master output section on my A&H System 8. Wish me luck. Ill need it Im a musician not a tech guy.

well get a tech guy to help so you don't screw up.

The power supply is quite important.

Make sure to do it correctly.

In my TV days we used to have a problem with the metre bulbs going on Sony VTRs. Besides the cost of the bulbs there was a time factor--getting to them took a couple of hours of stripping down. We eventually set a policy of replacing the incandescent bulbs with LEDs (plus the necessary resistor) and once they were all changed we never had to do it again. The LED life exceeded that of the VTRs.

Bob

LED's are the way to go but those little lights are just so analog, cast a nice glow, and are period correct.

LED's are the way to go but those little lights are just so analog, cast a nice glow, and are period correct.

How about amber or yellow ones? Or maybe one of each in a lower power configuration? I was tempted to do this for my B77, but I would have gone for yellow or something. I cannot stand blue LEDs...

Last edited: