Mixdown media for mastering from?

RICK FITZPATRICK

Hello, I have an issue that I need some education on. And that is 2 track Analog mixdown. Now, first off, I am no expert. I am asking, not stating anything. Please remember that. And no flames please....I'm just trying to learn.
Here is the issue...IS 2 track tape the medium of choice for mixdown, for major studios to provide to a mastering house for mastering, or ISN'T it. Simple question. I would like some input. Heres why. I recently(today)purchased a Tascam 1/4" 42B-NB mixdown 1/2 track machine. My purchase was based on a lot of information gained here, and there, other forums etc., but not having ever been in a high end studio, I am now perplexed at the overall picture I get of recording information and how many different points of view there are on every subject. Now I know this is the Analog forum, not the mastering forum, but I thought I would start here, since my machine IS analog. The information I have gathered gives the picture that a professional mastering house will kiss the feet of a client who brings them a 2trk MIXDOWN TAPE for mastering. WHAT????? Well, wait a minute. Let me get this straight. Out of all the new digital toys and tools out in recording land, including but not limited to Pro tools, etc.etc.etc., and all the inhouse mastered CD's, etc. etc., the argument states that anytime a mastering house recieves a MIXDOWN CD, they do something to it, but they CANNOT put back what the mixdown to CD process takes away. This is why analog 2trk tape is preferred as a mixdown media. THEY WOULD PREFER to MASTER FROM TAPE!!!