Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Looking for opinions on a Tascam 32 reel to reel...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Looking for opinions on a Tascam 32 reel to reel...

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Trying to decide between the ampex AG440 and the Tascam.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Gone
    Age
    58
    Posts
    7,703
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 222 Times in 211 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Buy the TASCAM.

    It's stereo and 40 years newer plus, you can still get parts and service on it if it needs any. The Ampex is only mono and harder to find parts and someone old enough to work on them as they are going on 50 years old at this point.

    Cheers!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3,371
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Why would anyone seriously mix to mono??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Gone
    Age
    58
    Posts
    7,703
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 222 Times in 211 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Originally posted by jake-owa
    Why would anyone seriously mix to mono??
    Many AM radio are mono and use mono equipment in some cases.

    Dispatch for fire, police and ambulance are recorded in mono.

    Any professional recording from the mid fifties and back used mono in the studio. And, probably that old Ampex AG440 recorded many high fidelity mono productions in its day.

    I remember once seeing a re-print of an ad for Ampex tape recorders from 1949 with Bing Crosby pitching the merits of the 300 series mono recorder in Mix magazine a few years back.

    When adjusted correctly, those machines sounded as lush and full as anything put out by any "modern" deck of the same format. Maybe even better considering is was 1/4" tape for one chanel only. That equals FAT sound!!

    Cheers!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3,371
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Right, I get that but why mix in mono when a good stereo mix that has been checked in mono will collapse fine and be as useable.

    Who the hell is mixing for AM radio these days?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    768
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    27278
    Hey Aloha,

    I don't know anything about the 32 (Or much else for that matter-LOL), but welcome to the bbs all the same.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    I'm not exactly going to use the ampex for mixing down to, where as I would with the tascam it being stereo and all. I was thinking of just using the ampex to track to for various things like getting REAL tape saturation or just warming things up and then throwing them into the computer. And getting that FAT sound!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3,371
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Can you say extra generation tape loss?

    Why not just put your money into a good compressor instead?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    17
    I don't see your point on the tape generation loss. But since your sugesting a compressor what would you recomend?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    3,371
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I guess the tape loss would be minor but I doubt the benifit would be enough to justify the price of the machine and tape. "Phat" and "warm" are just different flavors of distortion. A good compressor will do more for that in my opinion. A good tape machine will just sound clean but a not so good one may just add hiss and remove some clarity.

    My next compressor will be a two pack of RNCs in a 1 space rack plate.
    I've heard these and they sound great for the money.

    www.mercenary.com/2rnhousinfun.html
    That's four channels for under $400, not bad at all.

    Hey Aloha, what's with the username, are you from Hawaii?
    I'm in Aiea.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •