isnt there a cheater way to multitrack with an average cassette recorder?

thefiremelted

i heard you can cover up the eraser head with a piece of tape, and therefor achieve multitracking with a normal tape recorder. the problem is, im a newb and dont know which head the eraser head is. any help?

Do you mean "partially cover up"?

Because that doesn't make sense to me, either. :D

No, you can't record one track over another track.

I had an experience with my Yamaha MT-50 4-track that sort of pertains to your question.......I was re-recording a friend's vocals on track 2 (since his first try was riddled with mistakes), this would normally erase his first take. But we found that his first vocal was still present on the track (it sounded like a chorus effect and bad back-up singing where he didn't sing the words the same).......the other 3 tracks erased properly when re-recording on them.......I had it repaired and according to the bill there was a disconnected wire on track 2 (I assume to the eraser head).

So I think it is possible to record two (or more) different sounds onto one piece of tape at two different times by disabling the eraser-head (sort of like a double exposure photograph........I've seen surreal pictures that might have a guy sitting on a step and overlapping the whole picture is a scene of trees and sky........where two different pictures were taken on one frame of film.)

The problem though seems to be that you can never make a mistake throughout the whole recording of the song (if you do you have to start all over at at the beginning of the first "track" with clean/erased tape) and you have limited control over how the final volume levels of different parts will turn out (though with trail and error it would be seem to be somewhat possible). It doesn't seem practical for any semi-serious attempt to record a song...though it might work as a practice tool for laying down a rhythm guitar and then adding a lead ("on top" of that rhythm guitar")