How do these heads look..

Bigsnake00

This is a Otari that I am looking at, but I really dont know what to look for in the heads...so, if anyone could tell me what the think that would be GRRRRRRREAT

Attachments

• otari.jpg
    otari.jpg
    61.8 KB · Views: 54
Bigsnake00 said:
This is a Otari that I am looking at, but I really dont know what to look for in the heads...so, if anyone could tell me what the think that would be GRRRRRRREAT
While I'm no expert at providing this type of advice (I'll leave that to others), I see that the tape path wasn't particularly well kept. To put it bluntly: the entire tape path is FILTHY! Now, what is that crusted old thing at the far right ? Don't tell me it's the pinch roller! I also see a groove on the tape lifter. (I sure hope the Otari has a second tape lifter). The grooves on the tape lifters signify the amount of time the tape has been in Fw and Rev. Obviously this is a well used machine. The heads, however, from the pict, don't neccessarily show a lot of wear damage, at least not to the naked eye, but are definitely filthy with oxide (basically rust) that has not been cleaned for some time. I feel the heads still have a bit less than half of their life left in them but it's hard to tell. Judging from the lack of maintenance on the tape path, I'd be surprised if the rest of the deck and especially the inside, wasn't filthy as well. The previous owner should have been arrested for that!! Gotta tell you that personally I'd pass on this purchase, unless that is, you are certain it works, records good tones and the price is way down, below market value for this particular condition Otari. You can then take it to a tech and have it properly brought up to spec. I'll let someone else jump in.

~Daniel

That's basically what I was going to say.