tips, tricks or special techniques? I was
wanting to bump up to 16-trak recording but
stay in the analog realm and produce high
quality, low-noise recordings. The music is
Blues, Reggae and funky Jazz. Anything you
can offer would be most appreciated!
Thanks!
J E E M A I

In general, the Fostex machines are electronically superior to the Tascam machines, but the Tascam's are mechanically superior.
I.a.w, they're built like a tank and very reliable.

IMO, parts are easier to find for the Tascam and cheaper.

Search this forum, there's been quite some Fostex/Tascam discussion.

I have an MSR 16 and it's a very nice machine. The sound quality is excellent and it's a very well engineered, solid workhorse.

msr-16

I will aslo endorse the msr-16. I found one a few years ago and I am very happy with it. At that time I was moving up from a Fostex R-8 (1/4 inch 8track). I have no experience recording a Hammond, but the MSR-16 works well with guitars and drums. I must admit that I usually seek a more bluesy, raunchy, "live" sound so I can't speak on the machine's performance in, for example, a "cool jazz" application. Basically, I think that you will appreciate the warm, deep sound of this tape machine and you will be glad that you didn't decide to find some digital/computer solution.

As I mentioned earlier I have an MSR 16 and I also have an old Fostex A-8 which is a precursor to the R-8. The A-8 is basically the same except you can only record up to four channels at a time (even though it's an 8-track).

This may be a surprise but the Fostex sounds just as good to me as the MSR 16 though the MSR 16 is a vastly superior machine in terms of flexibility, features and engineering. The Fostex broke down quite a bit...quite a dinky machine but as I said the sound is very good.