Help! Tascam 246 - Loud buzzing from headphones

Trovador98

Hi all!

I've been lurking for a few weeks here and this is my first post. I'm Brian 39 from Los Angeles, biochemist and amateur musician for most of my life. I'm primarily a guitarist and have a somewhat ridiculous collection of about 15 lefty guitars.

So I had been doing some research as to the best 4 track cassette recorder to listen back to my old master tapes from my youth and maybe try recording to tape again. Based on my research I settled on the Tascam 246 and found a very clean looking machine on a Minneapolis craigslist page. Very nice fellow insured me that everything was working well...he recently put in new belts, tires, pinch roller...etc. It even came with a custom flight case. Well, last night I took delivery of it and I was amazed at how well it was packed.

Plugged it in and verified that it moves tape smoothly without issue. Popped in the headphones and was disturbed to hear very loud buzzing humming that made the tapes almost unlistenable! I tried both headphone jacks and a couple of different headphones. The noise is there even when the tape is not running. Noise goes away when I turn down the headphone monitor pot.

Please help! Any ideas, suggestions, recommendations??

Thank you
Brian

Maybe a dirty headphone jack???
You could try swabbing it out with some deoxit. Even though I have a feeling
that's not the problem, it's worth a try.

Dirty jacks I don't think explain this kind of buzz/hum. Sounds like radio house, 60 cycle or grounding issue. I'm starting to think it's from dirty power. I don't have a power conditioner but have a Furman guitar pedal board that I think filters power that I can try plugging it into to see if that helps.