Help with Otari Mx5050 BQII

lschapman

I'm working on a project converting spoken word analog tapes to digital mp3s. The original project was recorded on an Otari MX5050 BII two track machine with large reels on slow speed. The motors on the BII started to die causing the audio to drag in certain spots so I found and bought a newer machine (Otari MX5050 BQII) which is a four track unit. I'm trying to record these tapes to my DAW with a PreSonus Firestudio Project. My recording software is Sony Vegas Pro 8. When playing back the two track tapes on the four track machine the levels vary greatly. Track one is very hot, track two, three, and four have much lower levels. The BQII machine does not have any line out level controls that I can see. I also notice that the sound is distorted and kind of metallic sounding. Is it possible to get clean audio from a two track tape with a four track machine? I have been working with digital audio for a few years but this is my first adventure into the analog reel to reel world. Any information or tips on doing this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

LSChapman

Hi,

Well, the good method would be to use a deck with the same head configuration that the one used to record the tape. If you have a 4 tracks - 2 channels, you need a 4 tracks - 2 channels deck, but you could also record to digital from a theorical 4 tracks - 1 channel mono deck, and in a postproduction arrange this to get the stereo tracks together.

If you have a half track stereo tape and plays it in a quarter track stereo deck, you'll have right channel with some dB level below than the left channel, and maybe even some high frequence lost, but if we are talking about people conversations / conferences, then you can arrange this using a higher recording level in the right channel.

But first of all, ensure that the heads are well cleaned and also the entire tape path.