Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Help calibrating a Sony TC-399

Thanks

Question Help calibrating a Sony TC-399

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi All,

I'm about to embark on calibrating my Sony TC-399. I think I have all I need:

• Calibration tape (equivalent of Sony J-19-F2 from Gennlab.com)
    • 2ch oscilloscope
    • DMM that will measure VAC and frequency
    • Blank tape (AGFA PEM 468 - I know it's old but I have quite a bit of it and it's in new condition and not exhibiting any signs of SSS)
    • Tone Generator (Logic Pro X outputting through an Audient iD22)
    • Service manual (see attachment)

I have never done a calibration before and having read the relevant section of the service manual (starts on p17 of the attached .pdf), I could use some help.
    I have some basic electronics experience as well as having worked professionally in the audio industry for the last two decades.

The machine has been cleaned and demagnetised as of this evening and is in good mechanical order.
    I think I know how to set the azimuth of the playback and record heads but when it comes to the playback level and record level adjustments I'm a little unsure. I haven't made any adjustments yet.
    The first tone on the test tape I have is recorded at 185nW/m. The meters aren't calibrated so I won't go off them yet. What voltage should I be reading at the line out for this tone? The manual says "0.435V (-5dB) reading". Does this mean I adjust the trimmer for that output voltage and then calibrate the VU meter to read -5dB?

Maybe I just need to start at the start and work my way through everything.

I'd appreciate it if anyone could help guide me through the process.

Dan
    Attached Files Attached Files

northampton uk home of Dr Who and Blackstar Amps!
    Thanks
    Hi Dan...Corrr! Been decades since I saw a Sony OR manual! Good innit?