Hello

nate_dennis

Hey everyone,
I've looked around these forums for a while and you all seem very knowledgable and cool. I am new to analog recording but I have done digital in the past. I am considering purchasing a Tascam 388 as my first analog multitrack unit. I have a few questions that I haven't seen addressed anywhere else so I thought I'd ask them here.

1. How do effects such as reverb work? I know outboard gear is used and I know how to use them . . . but is there a way to add them after the recording is done? Example: Track one is "lead vocals." If I want to add reverb to JUST track one can I add it later or is there no way to do that?

2. Are there other comporable machines that I should consider? The 338 runs, what, 7.5IPS and is 1/4" tape . . . if my understanding is accurate (which it may not be) the faster the recording speed, the lower the noise and the thicker the tape the more headroom you have. So these specs seems decently low. Am I off?

Thanks in advance for any help you all can give me. I hope these questions haven't been adressed before. If so . . .I'm terribly sorry. I look forward to getting to know you all and hopefully learning and sharing some information!!!

Nate Dennis

Hi...

The 388 has Aux/Eff-sends and receives as a little "8x1 submixer" section, as well as Accessory send-receive patch points on each channel, which makes it pretty flexible.

For reverb, typically you'd send the dry signal from the Aux/Eff-send, thru the reverb unit and back into the mix with the Aux/Eff-receive, in a "loop" style patch.

For compression, you'd typically "insert" it inline to the signal on the individual channel with the Access-Snd/Rcv patch points.

Either of these effecting scenarios can be done previous to recording and printed on tape, or after recording as a post-production technique.