Has anyone replaced a motor in a 388?

batterista

The "left" motor in my 388 is dead... when I press Rewind, it seems like it tries to get going, but stalls. I have to manually rewind the tape, which isn't a huge deal, just annoying and not acceptable in the long run. Play/Fast Forward work perfectly.

I don't have the money to take it to the shop, and wanted to know what it's like to change out a motor. I'm not a mechanical genius, but I can follow directions pretty well. Is this a beast of a job or doable?

Man, that's a lot of hand winding!

Probably covered before, but you want to make sure it's not a "sticky" tape that's prohibiting the rewind function. Sticky tape is to blame for many transport issues, as it's proven over time.

If you feel adventurous, there's a moderate disassembly to take the face plate, deck plate, or whatever you want to call it, from the face of the reel-to-reel transport. Once under this cover, you'd want to verify the brakes are releasing fully when tape's put into motion.

Beyond that, I'd venture to say that if you suspect a bad motor, it's likely one bad, or a pair of bad drive transistors, (2 transitors drive each reel motor), more than the motor. Just by probability. Unfortunately, that's a techy repair that doesn't lend itself to basic DIY efforts.

The description of "tries to get going but stalls" has me suspicious of bad tape. It depends on how much it "tries" before giving up. If it goes a second or two, I'd suspect bad tape (or servo adjustments). If it moves a split second and goes entirely limp, losing tape tension, I'd suspect motor drive transitors.