Eternal Newbie question

BillyFurnett

I'm new to my Tascam 38 and would like to know:
What is the pitch control used for?
I used (on my 4 track) to try to do like backing harmony vocals with the pitch, but for some reason I never wondered what it was REALLY for. I have a misguided (Likely funny) notion that it's used to maybe fine tune ever so slight variations from a tracked guitar to one being tracked, but I don't know.

Ok, let me have it!

The pitch control has a few uses. The one you mentioned is definitely one of them.

I use it for creative purposes like singing in a much higher or lower key them I could naturally. If you want to sound like Bowzer from Sha Na Na, record your beds at normal speed then when doing the vocal track, pitch it up and sing your part. Then on playback, return the pitch to normal and voilà! instant Booming Bowzer!

The reverse scenario works for hitting the high notes.

It can be used also to play a really fast guitar solo that you couldn't do at normal speed.

Just make sure you tune the instrument in question to the pitched settings and then on normal playback, it will be in tune.

Get the picture?

Cheers! :)

Last edited:
For tuning purposes also, I have found it best to let the 38 play in its pitched position for a few minutes first so that the speed stays steady. The vari-speed is not as stable as the normal 15ips default so give it time to settle in first on any serious tuning work.

Well, yeah, there's the creative use of pitch shifting, font,...

like to do a higher harmony than you're actually capable of, etc.