dead tracks??

ROBOTQUALITYREC

i finally got a chance to go through my fostex g16 track by track and see how it worked. everything sounded great BUT tracks 3 and 8 dont record. i recorded a stereo mix on tracks 2+3 a few weeks ago and it worked fine. but when i was testing it (with a drum set) i had track 3 as the snare track. i wasnt hearing anything at first and had the kid keep hitting the snare. once i found out i had a plug in the insert weirdly (so i couldnt moniter) i fixed it and it was LOUD. it was in a joemeek pre, into the board, into the g16. i recorded and...nothing. i wonder could the loud signal to the heads too long damage it? i listened to the stereo mix again and the 3rd track played back but VERY quiet. i tested all the cables and they were fine. very weird. not really a problem. im looking to get it serviced someday soon...but i cant find anyone in western MA.

I am not an electrical engineer so might terms might be a little off. Each channel has a seperate board on the G16. These have the amps/caps/etc for recording an playing back. It is not uncommon that amps or caps go bad and become defective. This is what your problem sounds like. There are mods on these boards to upgrade these parts to get better sound, but also routine maintainence to repair bad parts. The two options are to find someone who can replace the missing part or uy a junked G16 for parts and use one of the functioning boards to replace you bad one. Having two machines, one for parts, is a common practice.