Bulk Magnetic Tape Eraser???

VESSEL2020

Somewhere in Space
Can anyone recommend a good "brand name" bulk tape eraser?:confused:
Need a strong eraser to erase a bunch of one pass recordings on 7' & 10' reels.
I see a bunch listed in different auctions,...like Realistic, Radio Shack,
Robins, etc. but I'm not sure which one to go with.

Had a Realistic years ago, that my father kicked down to me...but it got lost on my travels.

Not lookin' to spend a crazy amount of $.
$50 or less.

I'm curious too. I have this big thing that my old office used to erase dictaphone tapes and I think I used it to erase a VHS tape once...

Also, this is a total Noob type question, but I'm assuming you want to remove the metal reel before you erase the tape?

You don't need to remove the flanges.

Dunno if anybody is still making them.

I've got a handheld one by Inmac...

I've also got this:

IMG_2523.JPG

IMG_2525.JPG

I've also got this:

IMG_2523.JPG

IMG_2525.JPG
sweetbeats,
I don't know why,...
But I really like that thingamajiggy tape eraser!
Saw it in one of you other posts.
That machine is sweeeeeeeeeeeeet!:D
I just like really odd old/vintage stuff like that.
Does it work?

I haven't actually tried using it yet, but it powers up and hums and the reel table spins when you actuate the proper switch and shut the door. I'll know more when I can test it on a tape. When I first got it with the MM-1000 I didn't even have 1" tape to try it on, and once I had tape and had run some tests on the MM-1000 I'd sort of forgetten about the SE-10 (that's the model of the Ampex unit).

I'll know more in a month or two as I have four 1" reels and six 2" reels of 499 that are used that'll need bulk erasure.

I'd bet money it works. Notice the Ampex asset tag on it...this was in their one of their facilities somewhere.