Bulk eraser mistake?

johnfs19

I am somewhat new to analog recording and recently bought a bulk eraser from E-bay. I tried it out today using a circular motion on both sides about 20 sec each side. My question is did I improperly erase the tape, because now I hear a low frequency womp..womp womp now. I tried to erase it then with the tape deck to record no signal and still I hear the noise. I have a 10 and a half inch reel of tape I wonder if I ruined it because of this noise that I can't get rid of? thanks for any help.

John

Did you shut the bulk eraser off while it was still on the tape? You are supposed to pull it away very slowly, about 3 feet away, then shut it off.
I made the mistake of turning it off once while still on the tape and I too ended up with the womp womp...

If it was a handheld bulk eraser, perhaps it just wasn't capable of doing a large reel evenly. When you switched on the the degausser was it away from the reel and you brought it in to do the circular motion and then pulled it away before switching it off? If it is switched off when still near the reel it could possibly impart some magnetization that may yield what you got.

I have a tape degausser from years ago that was designed for larger reels...... (keep credit cards with magnetic strips far away)

Attachments

• TapeDeguasser5web.jpg
    TapeDeguasser5web.jpg
    141.8 KB · Views: 10
Both good points. I never tried metal reels. I would think that would impact the results

I have a tape degausser from years ago that was designed for larger reels......

I keep hoping to find one like that at a decent price in good condition, since now I have a lot of 2" reels, which I wouldn't ever try to erase with anything smaller...other than using the deck, but I would rather have a quick bulk demag.

Both good points. I never tried metal reels. I would think that would impact the results

Did you decide that Indie place just wasn't for you now that RR is gone? :D ;)