Article about the greatest 4-Track albums ever released

Hey guys!

I hope this is the correct place to post this.

New to this site. Been getting info from it for years but just recently created my account. Wanted to thank you all first, for helping me with countless questions and just generally schooling me in advanced analog recording techniques. There are some serious experts in here.

So, here's my statement / question. I'm a freelance writer living in NYC and I woke up the other day with an awesome idea for an article. Write about the most amazing albums ever released that were recorded using a cassette 4-track. Since the late 90's I've been recording to the medium and where I'm from (western MA) there is/was a thriving lo-fi scene (Lou Barlow and Eric Gaffney are from the area so I've been in love with the style and sound for years. I've got 2 legit on-line music sites interested in my piece so I've started working on it already.

Long story short, I'm writing about those classic albums from the 90's like Elliott Smith's Roman Candle, Guided By Voice's Alien Lanes and Bee Thousand. Sebadoh's III. Olivia Tremor Control. Ween's early records and of course, Nebraska by Springsteen. I'm also going to be talking about tape culture then, and today plus the history of portastudios.

I figured I'd start a thread where people could spout off about the beauty and the hardships of recording on 4-tracks back in the day and what people love when they hear a record with "that sound." Also, if there's an album that I should include please let me know why it means so much to you.

The final article will list the top FOUR albums recorded with a 4-track so maybe we can start taking a vote. Anybody making the final piece will be directly quoted.

Thanks!

Great idea!