analog 8 track machines

well crap.....i don't know what to do now.......i don't know anything about analog....all i know is i want at least 8 tracks and i'm not wanting to put a lot of money into it..........all these machines are in my price range though...... what do you think is better about the 38-8 a reel person?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2548008964&category=41478#ebayphotohosting

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2548971900&category=15199&rd=1

what do you guys think of these recorders?

i wish i knew what i was looking for. I know i want at least 8 tracks.....but 16 would be real cool....... i have no experience with analog stuff.

the one jake told me to get sold this morning.......i had already talked to the girl that owned it and she was going to relist it for 300.........but crap someone had to snatch it up.

punk

Last edited:
donkeystyle said:
What does a 4-track do with 8 VU meters? :confused:
Fostex did indeed to an A-4 4 track in the A-series of machines, (and also an A-2) but the 8 VU meters makes me suspect that it's actually an A-8. In which case it's a prefectly usable machine. I know, I have one. :)

And this is the bees knees when it comes to eight-tracks, assuming that it works and the heads are in good condition. Doesn't get much better than this, except for those madmen who modify their 8-tracks to use two-inch tape. :)

regebro, your geni-osity is showing again!

;) Of course, my friend, that's an A8, and I think everyone picked up on that fact, except the original lister.

The Otari never did anything for me. I see tons of those Otaris in the recording surplus stores down in Hollywood. They look like junk to me, but I suppose they were reputed as the high-end pro machines of their day. They still don't do anything for me, and I'd stick with Tascam, myself. YMMV.