Acquired some gear (namely a TASCAM 688 & a Alesis Quadraverb) now need advice!

gentlejohn

Hi! I've just inherited some gear namely a TASCAM 688 eight track cassette-based portastudio and an old, MkI Alesis Quadraverb unit. I was wondering if any one out there could give me some advice as to the best way to utilise the two? I made some rough recordings with a 4 track when I was younger but that was a LONG time ago so consider me a 'newbie' in this field (I'm not very technical when it comes to stuff like this I'm afraid!) I'm open to any advice (I need as much help as I can get!)

My first question is: How do I set-up and get the most from using just these two units ie: one recording console & just the one external device? (I can't afford to buy anything else right now but will in time if I make some good progress with what I've got.)