8 or 16 Track Tape Machine

inbloom27

I'm just getting into and learning about tape and I'm very interested in getting something. I'd like to get an 8 or 16 track and if it has all 8 or 16 VU meters, that's even better (I just like the look of it a lot). Something not way to expensive but not a starter model. Thanks!

I don't have a mixer yet but I would get a 16 track mixer to use a 16 track reel to reel. I plan on converting everything to digital after putting it on tape to mix there

you sure you want to do this? Getting a crappy mixer and cheap tape machine isn't really going to make your digital recordings much different. Analog equipment takes upkeep and can be really wonky. If you want to get some Tape in the path why not mix to a 2 track reel to reel? Not saying you shouldn't try.

I agree with Talldog,
If you are going to do this you will need some help and luck finding a good machine. They almost always have some problems that need fixing, No matter how cool they sound when you are checking them out. Whatever you do, take your time and test the machine before you buy it and get some folks here to give you some tips on what to look for.

Keep an eye out for a Tascam 388.
Easy unit to learn on and sounds not too bad either.And a built in 8 channel mixer.I love mine!
But like the guys are saying,you have to be careful about what you buy.Check these things out carefully.

I'm just getting into and learning about tape and I'm very interested in getting something. I'd like to get an 8 or 16 track and if it has all 8 or 16 VU meters, that's even better (I just like the look of it a lot). Something not way to expensive but not a starter model. Thanks!

I'd say a Tascam 8-Track Recorder with a Tascam 12 Channel Mixer would be a great start.
I've always been impressed with the reliability and sound quality of Tascams.
If you are dumping into Pro-Tools or something, you
don't need to worry too much about Track count.
I'd say for a Tape Machine, go with: