488 mkII question

radioone

I recently acqured a tascam 488 mkII. Ive noticed that the tape in playback sounds warbly like the tape is running at varying speeds. Ive read some of the other posts and it sounds like the belt may need to be replaced, This is probably beyond my skill level and so I probably need to have the machine serviced. Any suggestions on finding a qualified repair center? I live in central oregon. Im a newbie to the 488 and to this website. Thanks for any help.

I recently acqured a tascam 488 mkII. Ive noticed that the tape in playback sounds warbly like the tape is running at varying speeds. Ive read some of the other posts and it sounds like the belt may need to be replaced, This is probably beyond my skill level and so I probably need to have the machine serviced. Any suggestions on finding a qualified repair center? I live in central oregon. Im a newbie to the 488 and to this website. Thanks for any help.

I don't know what your budget is, but the only sure-fire service center I will recommend is to send it to Teac in Montebello California.

repair cost

Thanks sweetbeats, that's what I will do. I found the 488 at a local music store. They were asking $300 for the machine, but we finally agreed on $100. My only concern is spending more on the repairs than the recorder is worth. Any idea what these machines are worth in today's market. Seems like even if I had to put a couple hundred into it that I still should be ahead. thanks again for your response.

Thanks sweetbeats, that's what I will do. I found the 488 at a local music store. They were asking $300 for the machine, but we finally agreed on $100. My only concern is spending more on the repairs than the recorder is worth. Any idea what these machines are worth in today's market. Seems like even if I had to put a couple hundred into it that I still should be ahead. thanks again for your response.

I would definitely do what sweetbeats recommended, seein' as you