4-track tape recordings to computer?

winterbreak

Hi,

New to analog recording -- been reading a couple things here and there, so far so good! I am really interested in working with some of the little tunes I've made, but I'm still a newbie and I was hoping I could get some help.

I have a couple songs recorded on my Tascam Porta02 MKII tape machine and I'd like to transfer them to my laptop for some very basic editing. I want to keep these recordings as raw and lo-fi as they sound on the machine. I know most would recommend ways to avoid or eliminate hiss, clipping, etc., but I'd like to retain these quirks for aesthetic value.

I don't have an audio interface with which to transfer these songs, so I'm planning on buying one. Sadly, I'm on a very low budget, but after searching around I found the Behringer UCA202 and UCA222 -- dirt cheap for what seems like little devices with nice reviews.

My question: Are these interfaces good enough for what I'm looking for? I'd like to plug the Tascam through the interface, into my laptop. The songs are simple acoustic folk, basic drums and a little synth sprinkled on them. I'd like to transfer these to my laptop so I can mess around with effects, but overall keeping how they naturally sound on the tape machine.

To get a general picture of the sound I'm looking for, try the song "Jewel" by Adam Melchor -- tape hiss, quiet guitars. Will the Behringer UCA202 work?

Like I said, I'm only starting out so not a problem if the songs sound too lo-fi and demo quality! Just asking if the Behringer will at least be decent enough to retain their original sound from the machine.

I'm sorry if these questions are too dumb, still a lot to learn.

Thanks in advance,
Benjamin

The UC202 will work just fine. It won't degrade the quality of the recording.

I believe the Porta02MKII ony has a single stereo output, so you simply connect that to the input of the Behringer.