4-track cassette setup for acoustic guitar and vocals?

jawzkc

I've been writing some acoustic songs that I want to start getting down on tape. I'm completely new to recording. I could probably just buy some sort of USB mic and use GarageBand, but what's the fun in that?

What would cost me for a 4-track tape recording setup on a tight budget? How much should I spend on the recorder? I have a Blue Encore 100 dynamic mic lying around, but would I need some sort of expensive preamp for it? Also, how much should I spend on the actual cassette?

For now, I just want to record songs with 1-2 acoustic guitar tracks and 1-2 vocal tracks (just 1 at a time). I'm not too picky about sound quality, but I do want it to sound decent. Mostly I want to learn a new craft, and I'm excited at the kind of rawness of making something semi-performative in analog, imperfections and all, which I think will fit the songs I'm writing.

I'm new here and appreciate any help you could offer. Thanks a ton!

You will need a 4-track recorder and a good stereo cassette deck to mix onto.

Look for what's available from Tascam or Yamaha. You can find possibilities on ebay.

Best results are obtained with C90 Type II cassettes.

Most cassette recorders will accept a 6.5mm jack from a microphone. You may need an XLR to 6.5mm jack lead

I would recommend a Tascam 244. It has quiet preamps for dynamic mics and sound quality in my opinion when well set up with a decent tape is indistinguishable from reel.

Do you want to be able to share the results without having to dub cassettes to pass out? If so then you're going to need to record into a computer anyway. You might just skip a step and mix into the computer. You may find it's possible to capture your mixes with acceptable quality using the built in audio card in your computer, or you may want to get a basic 2-channel interface.

I'm with Boulder and OldePro on this one.