[SOLVED] 388 Headphone Output Problem

Mark7

When the pan knob is centred the output to the headphones is severely attenuated. It gets louder if I pan left or right but the signal is mono. The signal via the monitor out jack to an amp and speakers is unaffected and behaves as normal: i.e. the volume is the same no matter where the pan knob is pointing. I think I can get around the headphone amp issue by using the phones out jack on my amp for listening on cans but I would prefer to get it sorted out. So... What can I do?

Bear in mind that I have no previous experience with electronics repairs.

Last edited:
Tried the headphones out in my stereo amp. Thinking it might be the adaptor that's at fault.

The same, The signal was stronger when the balance was panned left or right. Although bear in mind that I was listening to a stereo mix rather than the mono tracks that I was listening to on the 388 the centre position sound was still somewhat weaker.

What sort of adapter is it?
This sounds like L+R having opposite polarity, maybe, but that's not something that would happen with one of the solid 1/4" to 3.5mm adapters.

Either way, I guess, try the switcheroo. :)

It's a mini-jack to 1/4" adaptor

Listening over the stereo everything is fine. Monitor or main mix.

If the headphone jack is damaged and there is no ground-sleeve-the headphones will act just the way you describe.

If the problem happens with two different headphone outputs, I’d be getting a new adapter and trying that. I would not assume the 388 headphone jack is the problem if you have the problem with the headphone output of a different device. The problem follows the headphones/headphone adapter, so that’s where the problem resides.

Yeah, it happens with both headphone outputs on the 388 (I wonder why Tascam decided to put two on it instead of just one?) and also the headphone out on my stereo amp. Need to find new adaptor.