2340sx doenst erase fully

technoplayer

Recovering Gear-aholic
I have been doing some tape transfer tests on my 2340SX which has not seen use in a while.
I am finding that track 3 does not fully erase the old signal on the tape...I can hear the old signal faintly in the space between songs and even under very quiet passages. Tracks 2 and 4 do not have any belled, while track 1 has a barely discernable bleed. Track 3 is more noticeable.
If I hit record with no input signal on a pre-recorded tape,, 2 +4 are clean erased, 1 is very faint, and 3 has noticable old music bleed.

Is this fixable by a bias adjustment or somethig of that sort?
How would I do this. I do NOT have the manual on this machine

Hi Technoplayer,

Sometimes this CAN be solved by biasing but it could be something else. I'm no expert on it really but my 3340 I just got had a similar problem and has been almost completely fixed by calibrating everything up to spec. I also ran into a problem once with my 38 that had this same issue on one track and I fixed it completely by tweaking the bias screw. The one you're not supposed to mess with not the one that is used when you're setting the deck up. But all these decks are different. I have a 2340sx but I haven't really looked to closely at the calibration set up on it Another thing can be the tape. I know I've had old tape on one of my decks once that wouldn't erase. The tape I was using was Maxell when that happened.

Thanks Steve.
I am using Maxell UD35 tape exclusively, and I ran the same reel on several other machine without any problem of this sort, so I'm, thinkin it the 2340's problem.

I have not tried to adjust anything yet, and not sure where to start. Any guide as to where I could find the info on how to adjust the bias (either the one I am supposed to or the one im NOT supposed to)

Thnkas for any guidance.