Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: 2 Track (stereo) reel to reel machine! Help me decide!!

Thanks

2 Track (stereo) reel to reel machine! Help me decide!!

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hello,

I mainly record "live" from my mackie 1202 vlz pro to my cassette deck. Non of that multitrack stuff for me . Anyway, can anyone please suggest a stereo reel to reel recorder for recording direct to and that has a real "analog" sound ? I have this guy who has "connections" and who can hook me up with a reel to reel. Prob is I'm no expert when it comes to the r2r. Which brand and model should I be looking at, taking into consideration quality, parts, reels, support etc .. ? Is 1/4 inch enough or would 1/2" be better ? Does the unit needs to have other ins and outs in addition to RCA's like xlrs etc ? What are the pluses or minuses ? Also, cost is an issue. I don't wanna spend many hundreds of dollars or have an "over-kill" machine. I just want a significant step up from my cassette deck. Thanks very much in advance for your help. (It would also be a nice bonus if it had a voltage switch for around the world operation - not essential though ).

Daniel

PS: Just a quick additional question .. For that pure "analog" sound, is it perfectly acceptable to not use any noise reducing while recording to reel to reel ?
    Last edited by cjacek; 04-25-2003 at 00:43.

Thanks

Re: 2 Track (stereo) reel to reel machine! Help me decide!!

Originally posted by cjacek
    I mainly record "live" from my mackie 1202 vlz pro to my cassette deck. Non of that multitrack stuff for me . Anyway, can anyone please suggest a stereo reel to reel recorder for recording direct to and that has a real "analog" sound ?
    You won't get more "real analog" than that casette, my friend.

The higher up in quality you go with tape decks, the less "analog" they will sound.