Zoom MRS-1608 or Boss BR1600 - any advice please!

Spaniel

Hello all,

This is my first post and I'm sorry, but I'm going to try to shamelessly leech off of your knowledge and experience. Who knows, maybe in 50 years time I will be able to return the favor, but at the moment all this talk of compressors, pre-amps and such like is just scaring me!

I am totally new to home recording, in fact I haven't even started yet. I am about to invest in a multi-track studio and I have been trying to find out which is the best one to go for.

I have decided to go for either the Zoom MRS-1608 or the Boss BR1600, mainly because they are the ones readily available here (I live in Japan).

They both seem really good, and to be honest I think they both have far more capability than I actually need at the moment, but in the future, who knows...

At the moment I am thinking that the Zoom one is the one for me for the following reasons:

1. I had a look at them both in the store and the zoom one looked easier to use. I really do know nothing (although I'm hoping to change that).

2. The Zoom one looks like it has a better drum machine. I need a drum machine. I live in a Japanese rabbit-hutch apartment. Real drums are not an option!

3. The Zoom one is only 2/3 of the price of the boss, but it seems to be almost identical in terms of its fundamental capabilties.

Does anyone use either of these? Has anyone tried both? Do I sound ridiculous? I really don't know. All I know is that I'm going to shell out for one soon because I MUST CREATE MUSIC!!

By the way (i guess it may be relevant), I'm planning to use the recorder to record (initially at any rate..) music which could be classified as ermm... "extreme metal". I hope that doesn't prejudice any of you against giving me the time of day...

Thanks for reading!

Spaniel

First off, making "extreme metal" in a Japanese apartment = TOTALLY AWESOME. Maybe you can get Merzbow to come up and do some guest work!