USB audio interfaces

Gilgland

Hello,

I am new to both the forum and to recording music and I have a quick question about selecting a digital audio interface for my band.

The band I play with recorded a demo at the end of last year. We recorded a scratch track by running everyone through the sterio USB out of our our mixer, a behringer xenyx x2442usb, then recorded each track individually using a m-audio USB condenser mic or the mixer as our input device.Needless to say it was a long process and it was difficult to keep the energy and cohesion that we have when playing together. We are looking to cut an EP soon and I would like to get an interface so that we can record all of the instruments in one pass and then just have the vocalists sing over it after that. I was wondering if y'all could suggest one that will work for me.

We will be running either 2 mono TSR for left and right or one stereo TSR from a Rolland electric kit, micing 2 guitars and maybe my bass (may just do a DI box instead of a mic), a mono TSR from a keyboard and micing a hand drum. So I will need at least 5 TSR inputs and 3, maybe 4, xlr inputs and the ability to run each of those into a separate channel in a recording program via USB or FireWire.

Could anyone suggest an input interface that could handle all of that? I am hoping to stay around the $500 or below price range but if there is a good one for a bit more please let me know, if the new price is a bit steep I am definitely not above hitting eBay to get a deal.

Thanks for any advice you may have.

Last edited:
P. S. I looked through different posts to answer my question but many of the interfaces that were talked about had either digital inputs Listed instead of xlr or 1/4" or had less USB channels than inputs, which dose me no good. That said, if there is already a post about something that would work I apologize for posting on an already discussed topic and please feel free to post the link.