Rack vs Desk

santarsieri

Hey everyone, I've been floating about these boards for a long time and have only made a few posts, but have decided to become a more frequent poster, so long as I can keep things relevant, so Hi everyone! and on to the point...

I have in my posession a DDA M-Series 16 channel (live) Mixing Console. I generally use it with Cubase and an M-Audio Delta 1010LT. However the noise ratio is quite high. The reasons I bought it were the price, my personal incline to analogue gear and the fact it has a nice EQ and 6 VU's

Being a student, I find it very difficult to get spare cash and I find it even more difficult to part with that cash. However, I just bought a Presonus Firepod, which makes my desk relatively useless to me because of the noise difference.

With the new advances in DAW's and technology in general, it has become aparrent that one does not necissarily need a mixing console (please correct me if I am wrong) depending on how you like to work. In fact working with a rack based setup makes for a very portable studio if you have a laptop.

I am considering selling my desk simply to size down and find my own routine so that I can find a way I can work comfortably. So, with that in mind (and with anything else anyone suggests I should consider): Do you think selling the desk is a good idea, and if so what should I use the money towards? Does anyone even think it will get much if I do sell it?

I was considering using it to buy an EQ unit (I'm really not keen on software plug in EQ), or perhaps a more practical desk... Any tips / thoughts?