noise on DMP3 gain pot - normal?

rhythm

Before I return this, I want to get some input, since this is the first mic preamp I've bought and therefore I'm not very experienced with them.

The new DMP3 that just arrived seems to be in good shape, but the channel 1 gain pot seems a bit noisy. If I plug my headphones into the channel 1 output, plug nothing into the input, and slowly move the gain knob clockwise and counterclockwise, I hear that scratchy sound that sounds like a noisy or "dirty" pot. I realize that in many situations I won't be moving the knob around while in the middle of a recording, but it could happen at times, and in any case this just doesn't seem right to me. I would have thought that it would be nice and quiet when moving the knob. Channel 2 seems OK.

I would have thought this is a defective unit, but the truth is that I've tried three of these units now, and I've experienced this with every one of them. So I'm starting to second guess myself. I've only heard good things about the DMP3, and definitely haven't heard any complaints about noisy pots on them. Is this normal for these units, or have I just been very unlucky so far with them?

Thanks,
Greg

The circuit topology of the DMP3 uses an instrumentation amp. Part of that is DC across the gain set resistor, or in this case pot. If you want pots to be quiet, you need to keep DC out of them, otherwise you get noise from little fluctuations in DC offset. It's pretty much unavoidable when using a pot with an instrumentation amp; you get some variation in noise as the amount of DC offset between different units varies.

Higher-end instrumentation amp designs use stepped rotary switches instead, which of course don't scratch but are equally useless if you are trying to do a gain change during recording. For that, you need a fader or trim after the amplifier.

Thanks for the reply.