I built my first pedal over the weekend.

Neat -and clean :>)
Did you have to do the solder connections to the board as well?

Only time my irons's been hot in a long time is cables.

Neat -and clean :>)
Did you have to do the solder connections to the board as well?

Only time my irons's been hot in a long time is cables.

Yes every single bit of solder was applied by myself.

I invested in a Hakko FX888D a couple years ago for Christmas. It's a fantastic iron and I find it easier to use (much easier) than the cheap $15 radio shack ones I used to use.

Yes, top job!

I used a Hakko FX-951 station when I worked at J.Beam Aerials for a few weeks. Quite the best solder iron I have ever used and I have been using one, practically every day for over 50 years.

Best up till then was the Welle Magastat and I would certainly say it is the "Jaguar" of irons but the Hakko is the "Aston" (or 911,or fill in top dream motor!)

Dave.

very cool. being a tech the quality of tools can make a job so much better.
i dont solder, but i hear you...the globby bulky solder guns verse the fine tips, verse the super hot that can do damage versus a lower watt with the correct solder ....smooth

looks clean and sharp. $35 and some solder time! :thumbs up:

very cool. being a tech the quality of tools can make a job so much better.
i dont solder, but i hear you...the globby bulky solder guns verse the fine tips, verse the super hot that can do damage versus a lower watt with the correct solder ....smooth

looks clean and sharp. $35 and some solder time! :thumbs up:

Couple of misconceptions in there CC...if I may?...

Agreed, solder guns are fit only for use on cars and bikes but you cannot really have "too hot" a solder iron. To be more accurate it is the power rating that matters more than the actual tip temperature* For general PCB work, even down to SMT (!) you need a 50W iron (the Hakko I used was 80W) as a minimum.