Digi 003 With UA 710 Twin-Finity OR Mbox 2 Pro with With UA 710 Twin-Finity

samcharles

Hi

I am a newbie looking for an answer to the following question.

1.Which one will be good to go with the superb/ excellent sound quality?
Digi 003 With Universal Audio 710 Twin-Finity OR
Mbox 2 Pro with With UA 710 Twin-Finity

I already own a Mbox 2 Pro and looking for Digi 003 to upgrade. Mostly i would be recording one input per time, at the maximim only 2 inputs.
I have heard people saying that Mbox 2 pro does not has a good preamp so people suggested 710 twinfinity.

2. Is there any performance/sound quality difference between Mbox 2 Pro and Digi 003?

3. I am looking to buy Digi 003? Is there any reason do i need to upgrade from Mbox 2 Pro to Digi 003 speaking in terms of quality. By any means i would be using the 710 twinfinity.

Some people claim that 003 comes with the "Black Lion Audio" which is a good sound quality. If i need to hook up the 710 preamp with my Mbox 2 pro will i attain a better sound quality. Or else i should go with the 003 and then connect with 710 Preamp?
Can you please help me?

If you have the mbox already, and you're getting an external pre, and you don't need more than 1-2 inputs, I'd stick with what you have and not get the 003. sounds like you won't even be using the mbox pres anyway. When you plug in the 1/4 outputs from your new preamp to the 1/4" inputs on the mbox, you'll be bypassing the pres on the mbox. So the 003 won't do anything for you.

So if you're getting the 710, you don't need the 003...make sense?

Are you using PT9 or above, or PT8 or below? If you're using 9 or better and want another interface, there are better for cheaper than the 003.