dbx 266XL Compressor/Gate VS PreSonus Blue Max Compressor

ericlingus

I'm thinking about buying one of these two. They are in my price range and after a little research I have narrowed it down to these two. The blue max has presets though which will make it easier to use i'm sure since i'm new at all of this. What would you recommend for a newbie?

The dbx 266 is horrible. I haven't tried the BlueMax, but the fact that it has "presets" leads me to think that it must be a joke.

haha it's funny to hear everyone's varrying opinions on gear. One person will say it's great and another will say it's horrible. Thanks for the resonposes, I think i'll go with the blue max. Anyone have any other recommendations in the 100-200 dollar price range?

the bluemax is great for beginners because the presets sound pretty good. the dbx 266xl I've had wonderful results with as well. Either one should be really good. I find the bluemax works well on vocals and bass whereas the 266xl sounds great on drums.

nkjanssen said:
The dbx 266 is horrible. I haven't tried the BlueMax, but the fact that it has "presets" leads me to think that it must be a joke.
But it can also be used manually!.... :)

I have had several "cheap" compressor. 2 of them where the 266xls. I hated them.
Why dont you consider the FMR Audio RNC (really nice compressor).About $125-150
It is a compressor you'll keep. The only down side is , it is a stereo compressor, But you cant use the 2 channels totally independant of each other. What ever triggers the compression on one channel also effects the other channels compression.

Tom

I have the Bluemax and use it quite a bit in both preset and manual modes. Works great and does the job. I haven't worked with the RNC, but it's on my list...nothing but raves about that unit.

I also have two Alesis 3630's. Even though you can buy these cheap now...don't - unless you're willing to do mod work.