ART Voice Channel Strip w/ Digital Output - Need Help

vofriend

Hey there,

I'm just as new to the forum as I am to audio engineering and the equipment involved. Sorry if this question is a really basic one, but I'm a voice over artist just starting to break into my career and I am pretty confused about the new hardware. I recently just upgraded from a Focusrite Scarlett Pro preamp in favor of a voice channel strip, specificaly speaking, the ART VoiceChannel Tube Channel Strip With Digital Output. I havye connected the xlr cable for my NT1A into the mic input in the front of the channel strip, connected the strip to my pc using the usb output, and have the power cable plugged in. It turns on just fine, but my problem lies in, where the heck do I plug in the headphones?? Looks like there's no spot for audio output and I've read all through the manual trying to figure this out as well as have checked out too many Youtube videos that never go over this detail. I'm assuming that since I can't really find anyone talking about it specifically, it has to be pretty obvious... unfortunately, I've yet to figure this out. I need to be able to hear myself talking in the mic while I'm recording. Anyone willing to help me out on this?

Hello vofriend,
I found this on a Sound on Sound review of the ART Strip:
"That the USB socket offers a way to get audio directly into your computer system without a separate interface is beyond doubt. However, ART provide no dedicated low‑latency driver, and because the Voice Channel has no playback monitoring facilities of its own, Windows users may need to download a third‑party multi‑device audio driver to record via the Voice Channel and listen back at the same time."
source: ART Voice Channel |