Will this connection work?

Quintero

Hi there!
I'm not really experienced with MIDI and so I've got the following rather basic question:
I run Cubase 10 Elements on my PC. I've got a Roland TR-8S and a Nord Stage piano. I want to use Cubase to record MIDI-Data. I connected my PC via USB with a ESI M4UeX Midi-Interface. I connected my Roland TR-8S and the Nord Stage with the ports on the Midi-Interface via Midi cables using In and Out. Is this correct? Is this going to work?
Cheers!

Hi there!
I'm not really experienced with MIDI and so I've got the following rather basic question:
I run Cubase 10 Elements on my PC. I've got a Roland TR-8S and a Nord Stage piano. I want to use Cubase to record MIDI-Data. I connected my PC via USB with a ESI M4UeX Midi-Interface. I connected my Roland TR-8S and the Nord Stage with the ports on the Midi-Interface via Midi cables using In and Out. Is this correct? Is this going to work?
Cheers!

Can't see why not? The ESI* MIDI device looks pretty good. I did not look up the Roland or the Korg but I assume they have at least MIDI DIN outputs?

As ever, download and install all the right drivers and follow that installation TO THE BOOK! One question, what are you doing about HEARING the sounds MIDI triggers in the PC? Odd to me to have a tasty MIDI interface but no Audio unit that I can see?

*I bought an ESI 1010E (from Thomann and they did not send the discs or umbilical!) and had quite a time of it setting it up but the UK people were most patient and helpful. That was some years ago, hope they have not gone the way of so many re service? i.e. shit!

Dave.

---------- Update ----------

Hi there!
Cheers!

Can't see why not? The ESI* MIDI device looks pretty good. I did not look up the Roland or the Korg but I assume they have at least MIDI DIN outputs?