total newbie struggling to understand midi setup

dhwty8

Ok, so I've been reading online and watching youtube videos, but I haven't found the answers I'm looking for exactly. Pardon my ignorance, but I'm a total noob to analog synth and midi production. I'm a long time musician who has always tried to craft and manipulate sounds in new unique ways just using classic instruments and pedals etc. For awhile now, I've been incorporating synths into my repertoire, but I've really only worked at playing one at a time. I've done a lot of work learning how these things work and am confident in generating sounds I want and all that fun, but now I'm expanding into playing multiple units simultaneously and so the hooking things up and getting them all to work together is throwing me for a loop. (pun intended) I know that a lot of my obstacles could be done away with easily by using a computer, but personally I'm really trying to stay away from that. I want to be able to do the same things I do at home when experimenting and recording as I do live and I want it to work without having to use my computer.