Problems with MIDI keyboard, no signal in DAW.

Haiko

I am a beginner in home recording. I've recently bought a new audio interface, the Tascam US-122MKII, to record audio, guitar and MIDI tracks. I've successfully recorded all but the latter. For some reason I can't get any signal from my keyboard in my recording software. I've also connected correctly the MIDI cables. I know that MIDI IN from my audio interface goes to MIDI OUT on my keyboard and vice-versa.

I've tried 3 DAW's, Reaper, Cubase and FL Studio 11, but with no avail. They're able to recognize that I have my audio interface connected, and I am able to record for example guitar with no problem, but no MIDI. If anyone could help me resolve this problem, I would really appreciated it. If possible, I liked to know how to do it with Reaper, because that's what I am currently using.

Useful info:
Computer: PC, Windows 8.1
Audio interface: Tascam US-122MKII
MIDI Keyboard: Korg SP-250

Thanks in advance for all the help :)

Last edited:
Is there a driver you need to install?

Also, you might want to read the information on the right-hand side of the following web page, under the heading of "Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8":

YAMAHA Keyboard - Sound through the keyboard/computer

Yes, I've installed the necessary drivers for my audio interface. I'm not sure if I have to install drivers for my keyboard. Also, I don't know what MIDI mapping is that they were talking about on the web page that you posted. Plus, it's about Yahama keyboards.

It doesn't matter that the web site is devoted to Yamaha keyboards-- the issue that section is talking about has to do with using MIDI in Windows Vista, 7, and 8.