MIDI Newb...Don't have a Midi Modulator..Can I plug MIDI device directly into PC??

JonahPavesco

I have NO experience with using keyboard controllers, soft synths, MIDI modulators, none of that. I've always mic'd synths since I started on my Roland VS 1680. A couple months ago I upgraded from the VS 1680 to a Tascam NEO 2488 MTR. I use both that AND Sonar 8.0 Producer Edition sequencer on Win 7 (as well as some other programs like Pure Data, an open source "Drum Machine" program called Hydrogen 0.9.6. and a few others, but Sonar's the only DAW I use, though the controller came with a DAW I've never heard of called EnergyXT2.5. I'm sure it's similar to other LE DAW's like Sonar, Cubase, Logic, etc...but it has a bunch of fx plug-ins, virtual instruments and an allegedly "low latency" audio driver. Might be worth using just for the extra effects and the audio driver...though I don't fully understand the role of the driver, so I don't know whether that'd be good, bad or neither).

I just got a Behringer UMX490 keyboard MIDI controller. In the manual and basically everywhere else I look, I see diagrams displaying the MIDI OUT going to the controller to an interface of some sort, which connects to the PC via USB or Firewire, but then a MIDI IN returning either to the controller or a sound modulator. I get that the MIDI signal needs to be fed to the DAW (in the case of soft synths), which recognizes the signal and returns to the controller OR a modulator (please correct me on this because I know I'm at least partially off about this). But the controller only has a MIDI OUT and I don't have a modulator.