Midi and Daw newbie Q

mcmac74

Hi

I'm brand new to DAWs and midi and just need to clear a thing or two up before I decide what to go for as the way it works is a bit of a mystery to me.

In the past I've always done bass and keyboards on instuments through a line in to my recorder, but I'd now like to be able to tap out bass lines on a virtual synth and record as I play. I don't have a touch screen PC so I assume I would be best off buying a midi controller with physical keys?

If I did this, can i then go into the track and edit individual notes in the sequence ( am i right in thinking that it will appear as a grid even if I've done it through an external midi controller? )

My route of working would be to sequence a drum pattern in the DAW although sometimes be importing one as a WAV file if sequencing one on my phone in an android DAW. I'd then be adding guitars, then bass, keyboard, vocals.

Lastly, if you don't have a touch screen, dont have a physical keyboard and cant read music / have little grasp of theory...how do you go about entering notes in the sequence for a midi part? Is it purely trial and error?

Regards
Mark

What DAW are you using?

When recording MIDI with a controller, you are just recording the data. That data appears on a grid that shows you what note was played and for how long. The sound is usually from either a keyboard with an analog output or some plugin to convert the MIDI data to sound. The data can be musical notes or hits in case of percussion type instruments.

Some DAWs convert the MIDI signals to music notation. The one I use does not. Once the data is recorded you can edit the data, change plug ins, run the MIDI data back out to a full sound keyboard and then record the analog back in using conventional recording.

MIDI has been around for over 35 years, it is simple, flexible, but there are some fundamentals that you have to understand.

I didn't read all of the way through it, but try this: Beginner's Guide To MIDI